Georgia Car Insurance

Any resident of Georgia who owns or leases cars must demonstrate financial responsibility. Driving without adequate car insurance is illegal in Georgia and can result in penalties and fines. Additionally, violating DUI (driving under the influence) laws in Georgia leads to jail time and fines.

Violating Georgia transportation laws is costly. Moreover, heavy traffic and high accident rates have increased the cost of auto insurance Georgia premiums. However, it is possible to maintain adequate Georgia car insurance at low prices.

If you are a current resident in Georgia, there are ways to demonstrate financial responsibility. Educating yourself about Georgia car insurance requirements is the first step. Additionally, you can shop around for cheap car insurance in Georgia.

Demonstrating Financial Responsibility

Driving legally in Georgia requires demonstrating financial responsibility in one of two ways: self insurance or liability insurance. The self-insurance option is typically expensive for most drivers. Therefore, you may opt to purchase liability car insurance from a licensed insurance company.

The purpose of demonstrating financial responsibility is to ensure you have enough money to cover property and physical damage to other vehicles during a traffic accident.

Georgia Car Insurance Requirements

State laws for car insurance in Georgia require purchasing the minimum liability limits. You must always carry proof of liability insurance in your car while driving. Currently, the minimum car insurance requirements are known as 25/50/25 coverage that includes:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, per accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability for two persons, per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

While these are the minimum amounts set by Georgia law, you may consider purchasing more coverage for added protection. This can save you more money long-term from financial hardship after an accident.

Generally, you will also need collision and comprehensive insurance when you finance the purchase of a vehicle.

Penalties for Driving Without Georgia Car Insurance

Your car insurance provider is responsible for electronically reporting coverage information. The Department of Motor Vehicles must receive this information within 30 days after your coverage begins.

In addition to coverage information, insurance providers must also report when your insurance coverage lapse. You are subject to several penalties if this occurs. Failing to obtain liability insurance or allowing coverage to lapse may result in:

  • Up to six months car registration suspension
  • $25 lapse and $160 reinstatement fees
  • Misdemeanor charges for driving without vehicle registration reinstatement and paying applicable fees.

The length of time for registration suspension may increase if you have more than one offense.

Georgia DUI Laws

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a criminal offense in Georgia. If your blood alcohol level is .08 percent while driving a motorcycle, truck or car, you can be charged and convicted. The sentence for a DUI conviction varies and depends on whether it is your first, second, third or fourth offense.

First DUI Offense

You could receive:

  • From 10 days to one year of jail time
  • $300 to $1,000 fine
  • Up to one year license suspension
  • Minimum 40 hours of community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee

Second DUI Offense

You could receive:

  • From 90 days to one year of jail time
  • $600 to $1,000 fine
  • Three Years license suspension
  • Minimum 30 days of community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Completion of addiction evaluation or treatment program

Third DUI Offense

You could receive:

  • From 120 days to one year of jail time
  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Five year license suspension
  • Local coverage of offense
  • Minimum 30 days of community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Completion of addiction evaluation or treatment program

Fourth DUI Offense

In 2008, Georgia changed its DUI law concerning a fourth conviction. The charge moves from a misdemeanor to a felony if it occurs within 10 years of the third offense.

You could receive:

  • From one year to five years of jail time
  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Minimum 60 days of community service
  • Completion of addiction evaluation or treatment program

SR22 Auto Insurance Georgia

You will need to purchase SR22 auto insurance in Georgia after a DUI or multiple instances of traffic violations. Other circumstances requiring SR22 insurance include an accumulation of unpaid traffic tickets and a license suspension or revocation.

Cheap Car Insurance in Georgia

As a Georgia resident, you are subject to pay some of the highest premiums. Therefore, shopping around for cheap car insurance is a necessity. You may qualify for a number of discounts that will help lower your monthly premium