Car Insurance Requirements

To help you understand the auto insurance requirements and laws in your state, we have compiled basic information for all states and links to the local authorities where you can find further details. The first bit of information represents the liability car insurance limits. For example for Alaska it is 50/100/20. The bodily injury liability limits for a single person and for all people in one accident are indicated by the first 2 numbers. In this case $50,000 per person and $100,00 per accident. The third number signifies the property damage liability limit which in Alaska is $20,000.

Bare in mind that some states are No Fault and may required Personal Injury Protection (PIP). For a number of states it is mandatory to purchase uninsured motorist coverage.

Alabama Car Insurance

Alaska Auto Insurance

Arizona Car Insurance

Arkansas Car Insurance

California

Colorado

Connecticut

  • 20/40/10
  • Uninsured coverage is required
  • www.ct.gov
  • (203) 297-3800

Delaware

Florida Auto Insurance

Georgia Car Insurance

Hawaii

  • 20/40/10
  • PIP insurance is mandatory
  • Hawaii is also a No-Fault state
  • hawaii.gov/dcca/ins
  • (808) 586-2790

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

  • 25/50/10
  • PIP insurance is obligatory
  • Uninsured coverage is required too
  • Kansas is a No Fault state
  • www.ksinsurance.org
  • (800) 432-2484

Kentucky

  • 25/50/10
  • Require PIP Insurance
  • Kentucky is a No Fault state as well
  • insurance.ky.gov
  • (502) 564-3630

Louisiana Auto Insurance

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

  • 20/40/5
  • PIP insurance is mandatory
  • Massachusetts is a No Fault state
  • Also require uninsured motorist coverage
  • www.mass.gov
  • (617) 727-3357

Michigan

  • 20/40/10
  • PIP insurance is obligatory
  • Michigan is also a No Fault state
  • www.michigan.gov
  • (517) 373-9273

Minnesota

  • 30/60/10
  • Require PIP insurance
  • Minnesota is a No-Fault state
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is also obligatory
  • www.state.mn.us
  • (800) 652-9747

Mississippi

Missouri

  • 25/50/10
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is required
  • insurance.mo.gov
  • (314) 751-4126

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada Auto Insurance

New Hampshire

  • Proof of financial responsibility (FR only)
  • Uninsured coverage is required
  • www.nh.gov/insurance
  • (800) 852-3416

New Jersey Car Insurance

  • 15/30/5
  • PIP insurance is mandatory
  • New Jersey is a No-Fault state
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is also mandatory
  • www.state.nj.us
  • (609) 292-5363

New Mexico

New York

  • 25/50/10
  • PIP insurance is required
  • New York is also a No Fault state
  • Require uninsured motorist coverage
  • www.ins.state.ny.us
  • 1-800-342-3736

North Carolina

North Dakota

  • 25/50/25
  • Require PIP coverage
  • North Dakota is a No-Fault state
  • Also require uninsured motorist coverage
  • www.nd.gov/ndins
  • (800) 247-0560

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

  • 25/50/20
  • PIP coverage is required
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is also required
  • www.cbs.state.or.us
  • (503) 378-4271

Pennsylvania

  • 15/30/5
  • PIP insurance is required
  • Pennsylvania is a No Fault state too
  • www.insurance.pa.gov
  • (717) 787-5173

Rhode Island

South Carolina

  • 25/50/25
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is required
  • doi.sc.gov
  • (803) 737-6117

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington Car Insurance

Washington D.C.

  • 25/50/10
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is required

West Virginia

Wisconsin

  • 50/100/15
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is required as well
  • www.oci.wi.gov
  • (800) 236-8517

Wyoming Auto Insurance